--

Bad news doesn’t get better with age.

My manager told me these words once upon a time and they’ve stuck with me. Discovering and reading Crucial Conversations changed the trajectory of my career. I only wish I had read it sooner. As you mention with your first point… it really is CRUCIAL to get ahead of the bad stuff… talk about it early… normalize feedback with your team. Don’t save it for when something’s gone wrong otherwise you’ll train your team to avoid being real with you. Plus talking about big things that need to be corrected is NOT FUN.

There’s a lot of good here. Thanks for writing and thanks for putting it out there for me and everyone else to read. 🍻

Michael

--

--

Michael Columbus

Software Consultant x Chemical Engineer x Mid-30s Married Guy with a stream-of-consciousness-bent Let's spend some time together 🥂