Photo by Hello I'm Nik

Should I Call, Email, or Ping? A Guide

I’ve spent 10 years in consulting and here’s my dead simple guide for whether you should email, call, ping or tweet (don’t) with your client or coworker

Michael Columbus
5 min readMar 29, 2022

--

Non-Members: You can read this story using this link.

*Ping*, *Ping*, *Ring*, *Click*, *Swoosh*, *Hey!*

Every office worker knows the daily barrage of Pings, Rings and Heys as information flits to-and-fro between you and people near-and-far. During days with a full calendar I’ve found myself using the communication method that’s in front of me rather than the one that’s the best for the situation. This has so often created more work for me!

Psst, if you’re busy, I get it. There’s a visual cheat sheet at the bottom ⬇️

When I’m not at the water cooler, I’m putting out fires. And, after a few years working remotely it’s only become more apparent how important it is to have a communication strategy. There it is again, communication, that general term with a mushy definition that’s the secret to all marriages (and professional relationships). Sometimes known as “soft skills,” communication is something we really don’t think about getting better at unless we’re on high school debate…

--

--

Michael Columbus

Software Consultant x Chemical Engineer x Mid-30s Married Guy with a stream-of-consciousness-bent Let's spend some time together 🥂